Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of Earliest Event Reported): January 8, 2013



Apollo Group, Inc.

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




Arizona   0-25232   86-0419443

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(I.R.S. Employer

Identification No.)


4025 S. Riverpoint Parkway, Phoenix,


(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (480) 966-5394

Former name or former address, if changed since last report



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Section 5 – Corporate Governance and Management


Item 5.07 Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

Annual Meeting of Class B Shareholders

The Annual Meeting of the holders of Class B Common Stock (the “Class B Shareholders”) of Apollo Group, Inc. (the “Annual Meeting”) was held on Tuesday, January 8, 2013.

Election of Directors

At the Annual Meeting, the Class B Shareholders elected each of the following incumbent directors to Apollo Group’s Board of Directors to serve until the next annual meeting of Class B Shareholders in 2014, or until his or her earlier resignation or removal as follows:


Nominee    For      Against      Abstain      Broker Non- Vote  

Peter V. Sperling

     475,149         0         0         0   

Terri C. Bishop

     475,149         0         0         0   

Gregory W. Cappelli

     475,149         0         0         0   

Matthew Carter, Jr.

     475,149         0         0         0   

Richard H. Dozer

     475,149         0         0         0   

Dr. Roy A. Herberger, Jr.

     475,149         0         0         0   

Dr. Ann Kirschner

     475,149         0         0         0   

Robert S. Murley

     475,149         0         0         0   

Manuel F. Rivelo

     475,149         0         0         0   

Darby E. Shupp

     475,149         0         0         0   

Margaret Spellings

     475,149         0         0         0   

Allen R. Weiss

     475,149         0         0         0   

George A. Zimmer

     475,149         0         0         0   

Ratification of Deloitte & Touche LLP Appointment

In addition to electing Apollo Group’s Board of Directors, at the Annual Meeting the Class B Shareholders also ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as Apollo Group’s independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2013, as follows:


For    Against      Abstain      Broker


     0         0         0   


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


    Apollo Group, Inc.

January 9, 2013


/s/ Brian L. Swartz

      Name: Brian L. Swartz
      Title: Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer